Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Student and Faculty Awards

The Psychology Department has had a great start to the 2011 year with many students and faculty members being recognized for their achievements and receiving awards for these achievements.

Student Awards
Alisha Adams (Doctoral Student)-Preparing Future Faculty Fellowship and Women’s Council Graduate Assistant Fund
Sofie Champassak (Doctoral Student)-NIH funded R25 fellowship
Elizabeth Duval (Doctoral Student)-Women’s Council Graduate Assistant Fund
Chris Fowler (Doctoral Student)-Graduate Studies Minority Doctoral Fellowship
Laura Hancock (Doctoral Student)-Chancellor’s Doctoral Fellowship
Starlyn Hawes (Doctoral Student)-McNair Doctoral Fellowship
Amber Hinton-Dampf (Doctoral Student)-McNair Doctoral Fellowship (renewal)
Jessica Hamilton (Doctoral Student)- Preparing Future Faculty Fellowship (renewal)

Faculty Awards
Dr. Jenny Lundgren-2011 Chancellor’s Early Career Award for Excellence in Teaching. She received this award for her excellent teaching and her commitment to improving teaching within the department. She has taken over teaching the capstone course “History and Systems of Psychology” and has developed and chaired the Department of Psychology Teaching Excellence Committee. She consistently receives stellar teaching evaluations from her students who laud her for being highly-prepared, knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and committed to student learning.

Dr. Kathy Goggin-2010 N.T. Veatch Award from Distinguished Research and Creativity and the 2010 Trustees Faculty Fellowship Award. Kathy received this award in recognition of her “sustained nationally and internationally recognized record of research and her exceptional scholarly achievements at UMKC.” Dr. Goggin is a nationally known scholar who is well respected in her field and whose work is seen as having a national and international impact. Dr. Goggin’s expertise in the area of HIV/AIDS has been recognized nationally and has made her a valued contributor to UMKC.

Dr. Jared Bruce-2010 Trustees Faculty Scholar Award. Jared received this award in recognition of “his exceptional scholarly achievements at UMKC for their stage of professional development and has shown exceptional promise for outstanding future research and/or creative accomplishments.” Dr. Bruce is a neuropsychologist whose research focuses on the cognitive and emotional consequences of various types of brain illness including multiple-sclerosis, concussion, and degenerative disorders. Dr. Bruce has already published a total of 22 papers and has five either published or in press for 2010. He also serves as an ad-hoc reviewer for 13 different journals.

Dr. Jared Bruce also received the psychology students’ yearly choice for honors award at the Spring 2011 Psi Chi induction ceremony.

Congratulations to the students and faculty members for their hard work and dedication. The department is fortunate to have a great group of student and faculty members working to better the future of students and the field of psychology.